What to read next

October 13, 2010

  

So many new books to explore but so many timeless ones yet to enjoy as well. I’m turning the tables today – if you could recommend one book (or a few if so inclined) what would it be?  It could be a recent read from the bestseller list or an all time favourite … let us know what we should read next!

Advertisements

5 Responses to “What to read next”

  1. KPotts Says:

    Well – I have become a true follower of the Susan Matheson book club and must must highly recommend some of my summer/fall recent reads fresh off this site:

    Same Kind of Different As Me – only half way through but amazing so far!

    The Kindness of Strangers (looking forward to starting The Blessings of the Animals next)

    Forgotten Garden

    Probably my all time favourite oldie – A Tree Grows in Brooklyn

  2. Carla Says:

    Thanks for your inspiration Susan – now if you can help carve out more time for reading…

    I enjoyed The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nightime.

    Thought provoking, suspenseful and beautiful. A quick-intense read.

    I’ll put KPotts books on my list too.

  3. Jane Says:

    I am looking forward to getting some ideas from your readers. Here are some of my thoughts. I am presently reading The Bishop’s Man by Linden MacIntyre — a story about scandal in the Catholic Church — I am waiting to see how it turns out, but my verdict so far it is interesting and well-written (cannot say I’m “enjoying” it, given the subject matter). You and I have talked about Eat, Pray, Love, which we agreed people either love or hate. You hated it. I was surprised by it and really enjoyed it. Two books I read in recent years that still are with me are The Book of Negroes and Three Cups of Tea (very inspiring – made me cry more than once). Gargoyle was also very good – my husband really enjoyed it too and we don’t always agree. An old favourite is The Red Tent, by Anita Diamant. So many good books out there, it is hard to narrow it down and even harder to keep up!!

  4. Pam Dennis Says:

    A friend of mine chose a book called, “The Lizard Cage” by Karen Connelly for a recent Book Club meeting. I love Book Clubs because I never would have picked this book up to read given that it involves the torture of a political prisoner in Burmese and I generally tend to stay away from such disturbing subject matter. I am so glad I read it though, as it is one of my all time favourite books. We discussed it recently and everyone agreed that it was an amazing book. It is exquisitely written with strong character development. The book starts out with a prisoner in solitary confinement which is a tough read but it draws you in gradually and left me with a sense of hope that the goodness of humanity will prevail despite some ugly political regimes. I highly recommend this book.

  5. Susan Says:

    Thanks so much Pam. I’ve been trying to recall the title as was impressed by your enthusiasm for the read. What a well written review!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s